Felipe Lopez Traded To The Milwaukee Brewers…

When I first heard that the Milwaukee Brewers and Arizona Diamondbacks got together and made a trade, I would have bet my bottom dollar that Doug Davis would have been involved in the trade. Well, I wouldn’t have my dollar anymore because Davis was not involved.

Today the Arizona Diamondbacks sent second baseman Felipe Lopez to the Milwaukee Brewers for two minor-leaguers: Outfielder Cole Gillespie (sounds like he should be a Formula One racer) and pitcher Roque Mercedes.

Lopez is headed to Milwaukee

Lopez is headed to Milwaukee

I like this move for the Brewers. Since Rickie Weeks was lost for the season, the Brewers have been mostly using 38-year old Craig Counsell at second base. I like Counsell a lot. I think every team needs a Craig Counsell on their roster. But Counsell is 38 and is more of a utility man at this point in his career.

Lopez should take over as the full-time second baseman and provide some nice offense to an already potent lineup . Lopez was hitting .301 with six HR’s, 25 RBI, six SB’s, and had a .364 OBP.

I like this trade for the Brewers, but as I mentioned in my article last week what do each of the contenders need? I still think the Brewers really need a starting pitcher to put them over the top.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Felipe Lopez Traded To The Milwaukee Brewers…”

  1. Monday Morning Links « Danimal’s Den Says:

    [...] The Brewers did make a move, getting Felipe Lopez from Arizona for a couple of minor leaguers. He should immediately become the second baseman, and might also be their leadoff hitter. They still need more pitching, however, to keep pace with [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

