What Comes Around Goes Around For Manny..

Unless you have been living under a rock, you know by now Manny Ramirez has been suspended 50 games by MLB for failing a drug test. This is a classic case of what comes around, goes around. I always believed that in life that if you did a nice thing for somebody or a bad thing to somebody that eventually the karma police would act accordingly. Goes that happen all the time? Of course not. But more often than not if do something nice for somebody, something good will happen to you.

When talking about things like what comes around, goes around or karma, I am always reminded of an incident that occurred at my old company. I was working in sales and we were paid quarterly, so the last day of the quarter was the last day we had to make our number for that period. It was 5:00 in the afternoon on the last day of the quarter and I received a contract for $2000. One of my coworkers was $1000 away from his goal and had nothing coming in. He had no leads, no more people to call….nothing. He was practically in tears.

For me, the $2000 didn’t mean much at the time. We were paid in tiers and that $2000 wouldn’t have gotten me to the next level. So what did I do? I handed over the contract to my coworker. Now he made his goal for the quarter. The difference between this coworker hitting his goal and missing in terms of personal income was about $6,000. That’s right, this little $2,000 deal netted him an additional $6,000. Not bad.

I heard everything from this coworker. “Thank you Adam,” “I’ll get you back,” “Wherever you want to eat, it’s on me Adam,” “I can’t thank you enough,” blah, blah blah. Do you know what I got from him? Nothing. Not a lunch, not a giftcard, not even a muffin. This wasn’t so much about the material item that he should have gotten me. I could have cared less about that. It was more about recognizing the fact that I went out of my way to do something nice for him and him doing the right thing.

At the end of the day, I had done a good thing and won the respect of my piers for doing such. My coworker well, he is no longer with the company and not by his own choice. Now was this inncodent the sole reason my coworker no longer has his job? Probably not. But I do think karma finally caught up to this coworker.

This leads me to Manny Ramirez. Manny is getting exactly what he deserves. Last year Manny did bad things to people and he thought good things would happen to him. He pushed Red SoxTraveling Secretary, Jack McCormick to the ground, he quit on the fans of Boston who supported him nomatter what nonsense he pulled from Day 1, he faked a knee injury and worst of all, Ramirez quit on his team in the middle of a pennant race. All this because he wanted to get out of his current contract so he can get his $150MM contract that he thought he could get. Manny wanted to get paid.

Manny got what he deserved

Manny got what he deserved

Well, Manny Ramirez didn’t get paid. He didn’t get anything close to what he thought he would get. A matter of fact, what he got wasn’t much more than what he was going to make with the Red Sox. Now he failed a drug test and has been suspended by MLB. What the Red Sox couldn’t do last year, baseball did this year. They suspended Manny Ramirez because he is a cheat. Last year he cheated the Red Sox organization and their fans. This year he cheated the game of baseball by using a banned substance.

Manny Ramirez did a lot of bad things to a lot of good people and thought good things would happen to him. Sorry Manny, it doesn’t work that way. You made a lot of people’s lives miserable last year and now everything has come full circle. Your legacy is ruined. Your Hall of Fame aspirations are down the tubes. Your reputation, crushed.

There was a time when an entire nation laughed with you and played it off as Manny being Manny. Now, somewhere an entire nation is laughing at you. What comes around, goes around my friends.

I also would like to use this post to wish Red Sox announcer, Jerry Remy a speedy recovery. Remy is out indefinitely after suffering from complications from cancer surgery. Get well soon Jerry, Red Sox games aren’t the same without you!!!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

