John Lackey Heads To Boston For A Physical; Deal Pending

When I woke up this morning, I had two things–I had a job and I had the idea to write a post titled–“If Jason Bay “Moves On,” What Will The Red Sox Do?”

By 2:00 in the afternoon, I was told I no longer had a job–at least until after December 31st and the Red Sox have perhaps already figured out how they are going to replace Jason Bay.

To be honest, not having a job after Dec. 31st, really doesn’t bother me that much. It clearly bothers my parents more. I guess even after you turn 30, parents will always be parents.

But not having a job will allow me to write more about baseball, which I have figured out is my real passion in life, start running again (between working and writing, I have gained a couple of pounds as my grandma pointed out last night), and of course find a better opportunity with a better company.

While I might be out of a job, John Lackey might not be out of a job for much longer.

Lackey is headed to Boston

According to Ed Price of AOL Fanhouse, Lackey headed to Boston for a physical today and according to SI.com’s Jon Heyman, the Red Sox and Lackey have a five-year, $85 million deal in place.

This is a very, very good move by the Red Sox.

Lackey is by far the best pitcher on this free agent market. I have always been a fan of Lackey and it’s not because he has seemingly been on my fantasy team every year for the past 10 years.

I think he is a workhorse, he is a gamer, and he is one of the toughest competitors in baseball. To get him for the same amount the New York Yankees gave AJ Burnett is a pretty good deal in my opinion. I always considered Lackey to be the better pitcher.

I think teams being concerned with his injury history is just silly.

He has never had major surgery on either his elbow or shoulder. Yes, he has been on the DL a couple of times over the last two years, but if I had a dollar for every pitcher who went on the DL during the course of the season, I would be a millionaire.

As I wrote in my free agent primer, the same people who say Lackey is injury prone are the same people who said Adrian Peterson was injury prone coming out of Oklahoma. It’s kind of silly.

The Red Sox figure if they lose Bay, their offense will take a hit. So if the offense takes a hit, why not improve other aspects of their team. The Red Sox counteract their weaker offense by having a dynamic starting rotation.

The Red Sox could go into 2010 with a starting rotation of Josh Beckett, Jon Lester, John Lackey, Clay Buchholz, and Daisuke Matsuzaka. That my friends, is as good as it gets.

I say “could” because the potential signing of Lackey does give the Red Sox options in their starting rotation. They could make Buchholz available to trade for a bat like Adrian Gonzalez.

As for how the Red Sox are going to fill their hole in left field? I think they have a couple of options.

I don’t think there is room in the budget for Matt Holliday and I don’t think the Red Sox were all that crazy about him to begin with. They could give Jeremy Hermida first crack and hope that he finally realizes the potential that once made him one of the top prospects in baseball.

The Red Sox could also sign someone like Mike Cameron for one-year and move either him or Jacoby Ellsbury to left.

The Red Sox have figured out a way to replace Bay by getting better in another area. Now I have to find a job and like the Red Sox hopefully improve myself.

You can follow The Ghost of Moonlight Graham on Twitter @ theghostofmlg

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

